Chicken Ina Would Never Make [parmesan ranch chicken]

Possibly my favorite 30 Rock clip of all time ever.

I’m totally kidding.

Oprah was on 30 Rock, and THAT is my favorite clip ever.

But the Ina clip is a close second.

It’s a well-known fact that Ina makes roast chicken for Jeffrey every Friday night.  She calls her recipe engagement chicken because it’s supposed to be so good, it will make your boyfriend propose to you.  I believe her.  Magic happens when you’re Ina.

Ina is the most supremely classy woman I’ve ever seen.  She’s effortless.

I am most supremely not.  I would love nothing more than for you to think I blink and a gourmet meal appears on my table every evening, but that’s just not a reality on busy weeknights.  Which brings us to Parmesan Ranch Chicken.  Or, chicken that Ina would never make.  It is simple and easy, but it’s not fancy.  It’s quick and dirty.  But it’s good.  And buttery.

parmesan ranch chicken.

And if you have never made this chicken, then let me tell you that yes, you do need another recipe for breaded chicken in your arsenal.  Two bites into this and my husband was begging me to make it once a week.

To make chicken for four, you will need:

  • 1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts, or chicken tenders
  • 3/4 C crushed tortilla chips (or ritz crackers)
  • 3/4 C parmesan
  • 1 package Ranch dressing mix
  • 6 T butter, melted

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Mix chips, cheese, and Ranch dressing mix in a medium bowl.  Dip each piece of chicken in melted butter, and roll in chips and cheese mixture to coat.  Place in a baking dish in a single layer.  If you have any extra crumb coating, sprinkle it on top of the chicken.  Extra butter?  Pour it on top of the dish.  Bake 45 minutes, until everything is golden brown.

3 thoughts on “Chicken Ina Would Never Make [parmesan ranch chicken]

  1. Now THIS is a recipe I can get behind. Good to know I’m not the only one with numerous different versions of “breaded chicken”

  2. Pingback: Meal Planning – For a Week | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

