December

december intentions.

Alright, December, let’s do this.

You are not my favorite month, but I like you a lot.

You’re one of the busiest months of the year, and I fear if I don’t take the time to declare a couple of things right now, you’re going to slip away from me, like you always do.  So here are some things I’m thinking about December, and some things I’m vowing to do.

  • First and foremost, I will do nice things for other people.  This shouldn’t be the only time of year we say thank you to our mailmen, Starbucks morning team, Pure Barre managers, neighbors, and friends, but that doesn’t mean we should skimp out now.  I’m planning some small ways to sneak some thank yous into the month, and some bigger ways too.
  • I will take Sundays off.  December is the one month a year I solemnly swear to go to church every single week, because CHRISTMAS CAROLS, and Advent.  And after church every week, I will come home and do things like watch Netflix, or bake, or read and just all around rest on my laurels, because if the fall taught me anything, it’s that I know how to pack my calendar way too much and exhaust myself.  December shouldn’t feel like that.
  • I will mail cards to everyone I know and love, and hang the cards I get from them on my wall with washi tape.  (The first one is already up, dear readers, when can I expect yours?)
  • I will start an Advent calendar tradition.  Grandma Glass of Milk used to send one to me and Brother Bear each December, and I always looked forward to getting mine in the mail.  This one came from Target, and I spent an hour the other night filling it with something my husband and I can do each day to prepare for Christmas.
  • I will, of course, keep Larry the Elf, moving around the shelves of our house.  We have a whole new space filled with endless possibilities.  Ali has already sent me some inspiration for this year.  If you have any great ideas, dear readers, do keep me posted.  Follow me on Instagram to see where he hides this year.
  • And, finally, and this is where I might shock you, I will not buy gifts.  My family did away with gifts many years ago when we realized a) we were all adults, who b) had everything we needed.  I can’t tell you how much less stress there is during the holidays when you can focus on what matters, and not lean on gifts to prove affection.  I’m sorry if I sound like a Scrooge.  I dare you to try it.

 

One thought on “December

  1. LOVE the advent calendar. Grandma Glass-of-Milk would be proud! And is that turkey soup simmering in the background? It’s easier to give up gifts when you come from a long line of elves who are the CLEVEREST at filling stockings (sadly, not my side of the family). SIL, it was lovely to see you all!!! Your little bunny is ADORABLE, so sweet, I’m really happy for you!

Leave a Reply

