I Think You Can in Europe [French Country Chicken, or Christ House Swiss Chicken]

If you don’t remember the reference, see above.

I’ve been putting my WASP cooking skills to the test lately.  You see, organic chicken was on sale at the grocery store, so I bought multiple pounds of the stuff, threw most of it in the freezer, and have been working my way through it ever since.  One of the best things you can do with chicken is throw it in a casserole.  If that casserole involves a can of cream of anything soup, all the better.  I’ve rarely met a chicken casserole I didn’t like.  See previous iterations here and here.

IMG_8598

This particular casserole came to me via two sources.  The first was via a longtime family friend who gifted it to me as a bridal shower gift.  The second was through one of the WASPiest cookbooks I own (the same one mentioned in that second casserole link above).

But here’s the thing.  The recipe from the family friend calls this French Country chicken casserole.  The other calls is Christ House Swiss chicken.  Google got me nowhere in terms of the “Christ House” thing.  I’m sure the Swiss is from the cheese, though.  But bottom line, here is a recipe for the easiest, most decidedly non-European, but European-sounding chicken casserole you’ll ever have.

To make 6 servings, you will need:

  • 6 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
  • 6 slices Swiss cheese
  • 10 oz. can cream of chicken soup
  • 2 T white wine (you could sub in milk if you had to)
  • 2 C herb-seasoned stuffing mix
  • 1/4 C butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Arrange chicken breast halves in a greased casserole dish. Top each with a slice of cheese.  Mix sauce ingredients will and spoon over chicken.  Top with stuffing, and drizzle with butter.  Cover with foil and bake 50 minutes.

(This is great frozen as well.  Cook all the way through, cover tightly, and freeze till you need dinner.   I usually get a giant pack of 24 cheese slices and make 4 casseroles.)

Leave a Reply

