On Following Directions [coconut blondies]

coconut blondies crumbs.

Here’s the story of Shutterbean’s coconut blondies.

I saw them on her blog, and instantly knew they were exactly what I needed to complete my baking gift bags this year.  There was a lot of chocolate and peppermint, and general holiday-themed goodness, but these would bring balance.  They were close enough to my family’s blondie recipe that I knew they’d be great, and different enough that I knew I had to try them.

But I didn’t listen when Tracy told me to put parchment on the bottom of my baking sheet.  I don’t have to put parchment on the bottom of my family’s blondies and these are practically the same thing, I naively thought.  Ugh, Jennie.  This is why when you watch all those cooking shows, people tell you you can cook by feel, but baking is more precise.  Measurements matter.  Presumably small steps, like stopping to slip some parchment paper on the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan can make all the difference as you pull blondies out of a pan.

I sliced these up, and slipped the ones that weren’t too crumbly into bags anyway.  They were amazingly chewy, and perfectly sweet/not too sweet.  I even liked the pecans, and I never (ever, ever) like nuts in my baked goods.  I will be making them again for sure.  With parchment on the bottom of the baking sheet.

To make a couple dozen, you will need:

  • 2 sticks (1/2 lb.) unsalted butter
  • 2 C packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 C all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 C pecans, toasted & cooled
  • 1 1/2 C unsweetened, flaked coconut

Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a 9x 13 baking pan with cooking spray, line with parchment paper and set aside.

Melt butter in a small saucepan over low heat. Remove from heat and transfer to a large bowl. Whisk brown sugar and vanilla into the butter. Whisk in eggs 1 at a time until mixture is glossy and smooth.

Whisk together flour, baking soda and salt, then whisk into butter mixture. Stir in pecans and coconut.

Spread batter in pan. Bake until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, about 35 minutes.  Let blondies cool in pan and cut into 32 squares.

6 thoughts on “On Following Directions [coconut blondies]

  1. And down the rabbit hole I went… To your family blondies and some other posts which somehow ended with me on Crack pretzels. Know that family blondies and crack pretzels are now on my wish list. Family blondies may happen soon; crack pretzels look like they need more hands on than I can fathom in the near future.

  2. Pingback: The Story Behind the Menu – Taco Night [slow cooker pulled pork] | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

