On Habits

Tracy wrote about habits at the start of the year, and I love the idea.  Habits fascinate me.  If you’ve been reading for a while, then you know I am all about what makes the everyday the everyday.  What does my life look like, not necessarily in those special moments that (with any luck), I’ll remember forever, but in the 8 million more that make up most of life?

The idea of habits gets into the why.  If my life is stressful, what habits did I put in place that made it that way?  Which can I change?  Which am I stuck with?  If my life is feeling good, can I single out some habits that are contributing to that?

scrapbooking.

I started Gretchen Rubin’s book on habits, but ended up having to return it to the library before I finished (the story of my life).

matchy matchy.

So until I get around to checking it out again, and I promise I will, let’s check in on some of my habits.  I’m not claiming any of these as either good or bad; they’re simply a reflection of life right now.

shoes everywhere.

Right now, I go to Starbucks every work day.  Every single one, dear readers.  No shame here.

Right now, I read at least 30 minutes a day.  I wrapped up 2015 claiming I wouldn’t have a resolution, but I quickly realized that’s just not my style.  So I quickly swore I’d read every day in 2016.  Debating ordering one of these so I have a visual to keep me going.

Right now, I check Instagram as often as humanly possible.  And unlike Facebook, which I have always vowed to check much less often, there is not a single part of me that wants to cut down on my Insta scrolling.

Right now, I am trying desperately to get back in the habit of taking pictures of the stuff of life.  I was so good at this before we moved, and then we didn’t have a house and I just wasn’t feeling the everyday photo-taking.

Right now, it’s a good week if I can get to Pure Barre 3 times, and a great week if I can get there 4 (this week is shaping up to be great).

Right now, my meals are the most random.  About half the time I’m hungry for a real dinner, and the other half, I’ll make cereal or PB&J.

Right now, I get home from work and working out, figure out what’s for dinner, do any little chores I need to do, and then sit on the couch to watch Jeopardy with my husband.  It’s usually about 8:30 by the time this happens.

Right now, we are keeping our Sundays open.

Right now, I am figuring out a laundry routine.  I realized that I do the laundry in the basement, fold it on the first floor, and have to put it away on the second.  That process needs to be streamlined.

Right now, I’m making a little bit of time to play with my scrapbooks.

 

3 thoughts on “On Habits

  1. Wait. What’s the end of the Instagram/Facebook thought? Love the slippers, the chair, and the pillow! Is that bag of M&M’s still sitting on your desk unopened? ♡♡♡

  2. Pingback: On Rhythms | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

