On Rhythms

What I didn’t anticipate at all about moving to a new house was that with the move would come all these new rhythms in our new house.

IMG_9011

In my post on habits, I talked a little bit about how I’m still not in a laundry groove here.  I realized that’s because in Casa Glass of Milk, the laundry process all happened on one floor.  I could do it, switch it to the dryer, fold it, and put it away all on the same level of our house.  Talk about a dream situation.  Now that we’re settled at La Moneda, I need to streamline things, because doing the laundry in the basement (plus constantly adding time to our dying dryer), folding it on the first floor, and putting it away on the second is just too choppy a process.  I get interrupted at random times, and pulled in other directions more easily, thus I find myself needing a boost to keep it all moving forward.

Isn’t it fascinating to talk about my household chores?

Apologies if you have never cared about the ways in which I do my laundry.  I doubt I care too much about how you do yours, but it surprised me that the difference between doing my laundry all on one floor, and doing it spread across is three floors has made a chore I have never minded seem, at times, insurmountable.  Makes me think what other processes in my life could use streamlining.

Another big change has been in my meal prep.  I’ve been planning meals out in the same ways as always, but something is different.  I can’t put my finger on what it is.  It might have to do with my increasing desire to just get something in the oven, and not have to deal with it again until it’s ready to eat.  Those meals are (eek, I’m sorry) maybe more boring than other, more labor-intensive things I’ve cooked, and so this blog also finds itself in a funk.  There’s not much to report when dinner is chicken thighs topped with a jar of sauce from Williams Sonoma, dumped in the slow cooker for four hours.

Bear with me, dear readers.  I still love coming to chat here, and showing you glimpses of life, it just might not always be about food right now.  What do YOU want to see?

5 thoughts on “On Rhythms

  1. When I go back to work after maternity leave, my new school day ends at 4:40. Any and all “easy prep/stick it in the oven or crockpot and forget about it” meals are appreciated. Maybe just stick them all in one post? I find I get stuck in dinner ruts and end up making the same 7-10 meals with little variation, so I could use the inspiration 😘

  2. I love doing laundry (really, no snark!) and am hanging on your every word about it! I’ve even been dreaming about your new laundry room. My own desire to “just get something in the oven” last night resulted in my taking this https://www.pinterest.com/pin/118360296432015643/ out of the freezer and putting it in the oven, and it was delicious. But it had been fruz for about a month, so the potatoes were a little, well, gritty rather than smooth, which is how they were when I made it but didn’t freeze it. Still, excellent flavors! ♥♥♥

    • I will make a post with these things and dedicate it to you. Plan to schedule on some completely random day, in hopes that you’ve forgotten you’ve asked, and it just appears as a gift to you.

Leave a Reply

