January Reads

IMG_9115

I fell off the reading bandwagon in the fall, dear readers, but with a 2016 resolution to read every day, and a GORGEOUS engineer print of Elise’s goal tracker, I am back in the game.  Here’s what January held…

Just Read

The Gift of Failure, by Jessica Lahey, because a couple of parents I hold in high esteem recommended it.  I have been talking about it with anyone who will stand still.  I did find that when Lahey is writing about kids who are ages her kids have actually been (it seems like her older child is in middle school) that I liked those chapters better.  Her chapters about older kids seemed like laundry lists of things she decided would be good to do, but were less road tested.  But the bottom line of the book is that kids need to “fail” and that doesn’t actually mean catastrophe, and in fact it means learning, and again, I tell you, there is a nugget of wisdom in this book for anyone with any kind of child.

After I Do, by Taylor Jenkins Reid, because I liked what I started in Maybe in Another Life, and this one has a very Miranda and Steve in the Sex and the City Movie premise, and it was available to download right away through my library.  I read it in a day over my winter break.

Reading:

When Breath Becomes Air, by Paul Kalinithi, which I bought, which I never do, because I didn’t want to wait for it to come in at the library.  Because everyone is talking about it, and because I loved Being Mortal, in the way it made me think about things people don’t often enjoy thinking about in an un-unenjoyable way.  It’s more about his being a neurosurgeon than I realized, and there are some parts I’m having to skim through (one part in particular about a pulsing brain that I wasn’t ready for), but as it nears the end, it’s breath-taking, dear readers.

Want to Read

I Was Told There’d Be Cake, by Sloane Crosley, because The Skimm told me to read The Clasp, which is also on my list, but that led me to this one, which seems truly up my alley.  If for no other reason than the title alone.

My Name is Lucy Barton, by Elizabeth Strout, because Cup of Jo is reading it.  I never read Olive Kitteridge, despite having checked it out from my local and beach libraries, probably multiple times.  This makes 0 sense, but there you have it.  Anyway, this one looks intense, and yet still like a quick read.  It’s on hold.

Spark Joy, by Marie Kondo, because LOL.  Because I persist in my on-going quest to be the kind of person who is a minimalist even though I will never be a minimalist?  Sure.  That’s why.

Leave a Reply

