Baked Goods without Chocolate [raisin bran muffins]

I start every post with, “If you’ve been reading a while then you know,” don’t I?  But this blog has been around for what feels like ever, and so really, what new information am I sharing here day in and day out?

Dear readers,

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, then you probably already know, I don’t understand the point of baked goods if they don’t have chocolate.  Like, not at all.

IMG_9205

Which is why it shocked me that I have such a weakness when it comes to The (Not So) New Girl’s Raisin Bran muffins.  They’re amazing.  But they don’t have chocolate.  Only raisins.  Does not compute.  I’m a person who doesn’t believe in oatmeal raisin cookies, preferring instead to swap out those little dehydrated grapes for the good stuff.  But there’s something about these muffins.  They’re incredibly addictive.  And moist.  I know people have strong feelings about that word.  But in this case, I don’t know of a better descriptor.

Above all else, the best thing about Raisin Bran muffins is that YOU CAN KEEP THE BATTER IN THE REFRIGERATOR FOR A MONTH AFTER YOU PREP IT! It’s unreal.  Unreal, I tell you.  I have no idea whether or not you can do this with any and all muffin batters, but this is the one I’ve seen where the recipe straight up tells you it’s the way to go.  I made a dozen for a staff meeting on a recent morning, and have the rest of the batter sitting and waiting for mornings that need something special.

To make enough batter for 24 raisin bran muffins, you will need:

  • 2 eggs, beaten slightly
  • 2 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 1/2 C flour
  • 1/2 C oil
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 pint buttermilk
  • 1 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1, 15 oz. box Raisin Bran
  • 3/4 tsp. vanilla

Mix ingredients and refrigerate batter for a day.  Grease muffin tins.  Bake at 400 for 15-20 minutes.  (Refrigerate up to 1 month)

2 thoughts on “Baked Goods without Chocolate [raisin bran muffins]

  1. On baking without chocolate–confession–I love yellow cake with white icing, especially if the icing involves cream cheese. But mocha (chocolate) works pretty well, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

