An Ode to Shutterbean [apricot glazed chicken]

The blogs I’ve read regularly over the years have shifted as I breeze in and out of life’s many stages.  But Shutterbean remains.  Tracy is one of my all time greats.  Her blog hits just the right mix of food and non-food related posts, and it’s ever so class-ily polished without seeming inauthentic.  And her site is probably the one with my highest pin-to-table ratio.  The recipes she puts out are the ones I want on my table, without fail, night after night.  Like this boozy milkshake from the other day, or her Ten Ways to use Annie’s Mac and Cheese, that continues to blow my mind.

IMG_9413

The most recent star at our weeknight table was apricot glazed chicken.*  To make it, all I had to do was whisk together a sauce, boil it for ten minutes, and pour it over some chicken thighs, before setting them in the oven for a chunk of time (my husband makes the rice in our family, so that was one less worry for me).  And what resulted was a dinner I know we’ll make again and again.

To make apricot chicken for 6, you will need:

  • about 2 lbs. boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 1, 13 oz. jar apricot jam (I used Bonne Maman)
  • 1 T honey
  • 1 T spicy mustard
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  Pat chicken dry and season with salt and pepper.  Set in a baking dish and set aside.  In a small saucepan, combine all other ingredients, whisk, and bring to a boil, stirring consistently for ten minutes.  Pour over chicken, and bake for 45-50 minutes, basting occasionally with sauce.  (I could totally see myself adding scallions and/or toasted, sliced almonds on top if I’m feeling more cook-y.)

*In one of the first comments on the post, Tracy shares that to get her notoriously picky son to eat the chicken, she told him it was like “that Chinese orange chicken” he likes.

5 thoughts on “An Ode to Shutterbean [apricot glazed chicken]

  1. This looks so delicious! Will cook this first thing next weekend. Your BIL loves sweet main courses. I have already ordered all the ingredients. Thank you so much ❤️❤️❤️

  2. Pingback: Meal Planning – For a Week | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

