On Impatience [chocolate peanut butter pop tarts]

The (Not So) New Girl has this whole Anniversa-birth-entine’s Day weekend of love every year, because she knows how to have a good time.  I can only hope to contribute in some small way, by bringing a sweet to the table.  Her request this year?  None other than the chocolate peanut butter pop tarts that showed up halfway through list week.

Happy to oblige, I set to making them on my Presidents’ Day off.*

IMG_9410.JPGThey don’t look too shabby, right?  But, dear readers, working with dough frustrates me to no end.  Knowing I wouldn’t have the patience to cut a stick and a half of butter into 3 1/2 C flour by hand, I went about mixing this in the food processor, as I’ve done with many other doughs of yore.  But I pulverized the butter so it completely disappeared, added too much water when it looked like things weren’t going to come together, and as such, completely ruined any chance I had of these turning out well.  The dough was tough, and hard to work with.  Sigh.  I’m so impatient in the kitchen.  I need a yogi to teach me calming mantras that will help me.  Because I so want to be the person who has the patience to bake with dough.  In the meantime, I have a box of puff pastry dough in my refrigerator for the next time I crave homemade Pop Tarts.

*What does it say about my life right now that as I went to pull the recipe for these back up, I typed chocolate peanut butter podcasts?

 

One thought on “On Impatience [chocolate peanut butter pop tarts]

  1. One day, we will master this dough.

    Also, “What does it say about my life right now that as I went to pull the recipe for these back up, I typed chocolate peanut butter podcasts?” It says your brain is officially exhausted and ready to meet the little bundle that is exhausting it.

Leave a Reply

