Naptime Scones

Since the Gooplet arrived at La Moneda, we have been so fortunate as to have hot meals brought to us left and right.  I did my best to stock our freezer before he got here, and Wooden Nickels and AGOMYR, along with some other friends and family, have been the ones who have made sure we’re eating a square meal each night.

IMG_0753

But I, of course, couldn’t stay out of the kitchen for too long, and so I got back to baking right away.  I get completely famished in the middle of the night, and often find myself wandering downstairs to see what I can grab off the counter.  When the baked goods from our neighbors ran out, I had to take matters into my own hands.  A friend of mine had served her classic scone recipe when we visited her the other day.  She claimed they were simple, and that she’d be more than willing to share the recipe.  A quick glance revealed I had all the ingredients necessary, and so during the Gooplet’s solid nap of the day, I pulled these off.  I forgot how much I love a good scone.  Fresh from the oven, all flaky and puffed up?  There’s nothing better.  And when they come together in about 15 minutes, and bake off in 7, I think it’s safe to say these are going to become staples around here.

IMG_0756

To make Caroline’s scones/Naptime Scones, you will need:

  • 1 3/4 C flour
  • 1 T sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 C shortening
  • 1/2 C buttermilk

Optional:

  • 1/2 C blueberries or cinnamon chips (I had neither and used toffee chips)
  • turbinado sugar for coating the scones before baking (I didn’t have any, but they are amazing with it)

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.  Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl.  Cut in shortening with a pastry cutter, or two forks, until the shortening is the size of rice kernels.  Add blueberries or chips, if using.  Stir in buttermilk with a spatula, and mix till all ingredients are just incorporated.

Turn out two balls of dough on a flat surface, and pat each into rough circles, about 1.5 inches thick.  Cut circles into eighths, and place triangles of dough on a baking sheet lined with parchment.  If using sugar, roll each triangle in sugar.  Bake 7-8 minutes.

Leave a Reply

