May Reads

It’s May, I have a newborn, and I still read books!  I pray to the good, sweet Lord that I never become one of those moms who over-grams her kids (oops, it may be too late already), or posts “How My Babies Slept Through the Night at 6 Weeks,” (but I have read those posts, and who are those people helping?  Seriously!  Who?).  But please allow me to be that mom who’s all, “I have a newborn, and I still read books!”

IMG_0842

Because my biggest motherhood fear was probably that I wouldn’t be able to find time to read anymore.  Turns out?  Not a problem at all.  There are two things I do without fail every single day: eat too many sweets, and read.

IMG_0381

There are just some caveats to what I read now.  Books need be:  digital (yes, I know that one above is not…which is probably why I’m still two or three chapters from the end), uplifting, and fast-paced.  That said, here’s what I’ve been working through,

Swimming Studies, by Leanne Shapton – This book is beautiful.  I completely forget how it popped up on my radar, but it did and I am thrilled.  I love memoirs, and this is a true memoir.  So many celebrity “memoirs” seem to be biographies masquerading as something they’re not, but this is chock full of poignant moments from Leanne Shapton’s life.  One of my favorite aspects is that in addition to more traditional chapters, Shapton includes tidbits about other swimmers she’s known, swimsuits she’s worn, and pieces of art.  It’s proof that what’s significant in life doesn’t always fit squarely into chapters.

Brown Girl Dreaming, by Jacqueline Woodson – I started this at some point last year, but ended up going back to the beginning and rereading it.  It’s written in free verse poetry, and it’s beautiful.  A little bit memoir, a little bit civil rights, and plain well-told.

This is Why We Can’t Have Nice Things, by Clint Edwards – Since I’m a new parent, the title of this one grabbed me when it popped up on a blog post I read.  It’s full of little anecdotes about having a kid, and made me chuckle a couple of times during 2 a.m. feedings.

I Feel Bad About My Neck, and I Remember Nothing, by Nora Ephron – I just finished watching HBO’s documentary, “Everything is Copy,” and was happy to have read these first.  I liked I Feel Bad About My Neck much more, but the bottom line with these two is that Nora Ephron is awesome, and writes about the little things better than most.

And in case you’re not all over #bookstagram, let me share something that I’ve seen popping up everywhere:

Book of the Month Club – the StitchFix, or BirchBox of books. I found this on Modern Mrs. Darcy the other day, and it looks crazy cool.  There are a couple of titles I’ve been wanting to read, namely this one and this, both of which keep appearing in my favorite bloggers’ Instagrams.

One thought on “May Reads

Leave a Reply

