Week in the Life, 2016

Back at the beginning of May, I gave Ali’s Week in the Life another go ’round.  The funny thing is, I rarely complete my Week in the Life album (yup, last summer’s is still up on my desk), but I love the idea of taking pictures here and there to document what life looks like at any given moment.

So this year’s Week in the Life looks hella different from 2015.  But, in a funny twist of fate, the two weeks couldn’t have been better planned (thanks, Ali!).  At the beginning of last year’s week in the life, I had just found out I was pregnant, and kicked things off with my first ultrasound. This year’s week finds me typing this post one handed while holding a napping seven-week-old, who doesn’t like me to put him down.  The times, they are a’changing.

And I’m pretty sure that’s the whole point of things.  Ali says, “The truth, my friends, is that we never know when our “everyday” will change. Capture what it is real for you right now.”

She also tells me to look for rhythms and routines.  Oh, to live a life with those again!

Some highlights from the week…

IMG_1563.JPG

What our living room looks like right now.  I thought I knew clutter before.

IMG_1567

And our coffee table.

IMG_1003

Enjoying meals that friends and neighbors have been so kind to deliver.  And the ones who make enough so that we have leftovers are my favorites.

IMG_1386

A typical weekend involves mowing the lawn.  And now that there is a baby involved, we run out to the porch to catch a white-noise nap.

IMG_1624IMG_1632

Always reading, every day.

IMG_1668

The only thing we’ve managed to cook so far is Buitoni tortellini with store-bought pesto.  But I can envision the day we can make it a la Deb.

IMG_1704

Always internet scrolling.  Usually during the first nap of the day, which is short, and doesn’t give me enough time to do anything productive.

IMG_1723

Bouncing around the house, in hopes of keeping someone happy.

IMG_1900

Success!  We match more days than I’m comfortable admitting.

IMG_1926

So much porch time since we’ve had a rainy, cool spring.  Love that.

IMG_1947

Impulse purchases at Target.

IMG_1951

And the reason for the trip, my new planner. I bet I will always plan in school years.

IMG_1986

Every evening (read: witching hour), we stroll, in the name of keeping someone calm, and in hopes of catching one more quick nap.

IMG_1846.JPGStarting work on my album. 

11 thoughts on “Week in the Life, 2016

  1. Do you have a fitbit? I distinctly remember wishing I had one in the first months so I better understood just how much pacing I did during the witching hour or between feedings to keep Wes from eating even more food than he was already eating. Palmer continues to be adorable. šŸ™‚

    • I don’t, but one day I did keep my phone in my pocket to try to track it. I don’t think that’s quite as accurate. And your comment is reminding me I need to check out your blog and catch up. So glad you’re back.

  2. I love this. This resembles my life so much 3.5 years (woah!) ago. The only way I got anything done was to wear Liv in my Baby K’tan. Does Palmer like to be worn in a carrier? It’s amazing having your hands free again!

  3. Pingback: If You Want it to be Spring Break, You Have to Make it Spring Break [Week in the Life, Monday] | a glass of milk

  4. Pingback: On Moments [Week in the Life, Tuesday] | a glass of milk

  5. Pingback: What Do You Do All Day? [Week in the Life, Wednesday] | a glass of milk

  6. Pingback: [Week in the Life, Thursday] | a glass of milk

  7. Pingback: What is a Normal Week Anyway? [Week in the Life, Friday] | a glass of milk

  8. Pingback: Have I Turned Into a Mommy Blogger? [Week in the Life, Saturday] | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

