This is Not the Post I Thought I was Writing [lettuce wraps with ricotta and golden raisins]

This was going to be a post about how I finally found a go-to appetizer to serve at any function I throw.  But a good post writes itself and that was sitting in my drafts folder for over two weeks, not going anywhere.

And in those two weeks I started seeing lettuce cups popping (back) up everywhere.  I mean, they were a thing years and years ago, right?  But I guess they’re making a comeback.

IMG_3225

I’m here to tell you, this is the recipe you need.  Lettuce cups are fine when stuffed with chicken salad, but they shine with this unique mixture of golden raisins and almonds.  A friend brought them over for a pre-lunch snack, and I turned around and served them to AGOMYR the very next day.

What’s best is that you can make them without turning on the oven at all!

To make lettuce wraps with ricotta and golden raisins, you will need:

 

  • 1/2cup unsalted roasted almonds
  • 1/2cup golden raisins
  • 2tablespoons chopped fresh chives
  • 3tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/8teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/8teaspoon pepper
  • romaine leaves, washed and dried
  • 1 1/2cups ricotta

 

In a small bowl, combine the almonds, raisins, chives, oil, salt, and pepper.

Arrange the romaine leaves on a plate and top each with a dollop of fresh ricotta and a generous spoonful of the almond mixture.

*A note – This could be scaled up to feed a crowd easily.  Do it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

