A Slow Cooker Round Up [slow cooker pork chops and slow cooker chicken cordon bleu]

IMG_2858.jpg

Okay, here’s the thing with the slow cooker. I love it and hate it at the same time. It is undoubtedly, the way I manage to get dinner on the table some nights. I am a delight most mornings–still running on coffee, sunlight boosting my mood, the heat of the day not yet so oppressive that I can’t even. So I’m happy to prep some ingredients early in the morning, and get them cooking before noon hits. Because when that happens, all bets are off. No matter how much I’ve done in the day, there’s always one more task I wish I had crossed off, or there doesn’t seem to be a way to keep my child from whining, and the caffeine has long since left my system. That’s no time to pull a meal together. And for these purposes, the slow cooker is my best friend. 


But is it just me, or does almost everything that goes in the slow cooker ultimately end up tasting like cream of mushroom soup? 

For the record, I love cream of mushroom soup. 

But it’s not what I want for dinner every night.  I save it for special occasions, like when I make green bean or hash brown casseroles. 

Though I never thought I’d say this, I’m slightly excited for the advent of cooler weather, only so I can bring some slow cooker soups to this rotation, and add some variety to the flavors that come out of my trusty machine.

These are the latest offerings out of the slow cooker. Both good. Both cream of mushroom-y, if you’re feeling it. 

slow cooker pork chops:

  • 10¾ oz (325 ml) can low-fat cream of mushroom soup
  • 1/2 cup (125 ml) dry white wine
  • 1/4 cup (60 ml) Dijon mustard
  • 3/4 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 5 medium potatoes,peeled and sliced
  • 1 medium yellow onion,peeled and thinly sliced
  • 4 pork chops

Combine first 6 ingredients and mix well. Layer potatoes and onions on bottom of slow cooker. Pour soup mixture on top and toss to coat. Put pork chops on top of vegetable mixture. Cover slow cooker and cook on low for 6-7 hours. 
slow cooker chicken cordon bleu:

  • 6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I thought these got dry, so I’m using thighs next time)
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 C milk
  • 6 slices deli ham
  • 6 slices Swiss cheese
  • 1 bag of your favorite dry stuffing mix
  • 1/4 C melted butter

Mix soup and milk together, and pour a thin layer on the bottom of your slow cooker. Add chicken, placing a slice of ham on top of each piece, and cheese on top of that. Cover with remaining soup mixture. Add stuffing, drizzle with melted butter, and cook on low, 4-6 hours. 

4 thoughts on “A Slow Cooker Round Up [slow cooker pork chops and slow cooker chicken cordon bleu]

  1. My whole MO in using the slow cooker is, find recipes that don’t involve cream of mushroom soup. So I’ll let you know if I find anything good come fall.

Leave a Reply

