On Easy Baking [peanut butter snack cake]

I am sitting here, typing this post, incredulous that my all time favorite cake (Lazy Daisy Cake, from The Fannie Farmer Cookbook) is not on this blog.  I’ll need to remedy that.  I love it because not only is it a wonderful yellow cake, but it’s the simplest thing to put together.  It bakes in an 8×8 pan, and begs for swirls of chocolate frosting.  It’s an everyday kind of cake, and who would ever complain about that?

IMG_4428

This cake, in that same vein, is a dream to make.  It takes minutes to put together, and you don’t even need a mixer.  I topped it, as Molly suggested, with a dusting of powdered sugar, but I think it’s begging for a Nutella buttercream.  Next time.  It tastes kind of like a peanut butter cookie, but in cake form.  I brought this to a group of friends, but I’d imagine I would bake it any random morning, set it on the kitchen counter, and watch it disappear throughout the rest of the day.

To make peanut butter snack cake, you will need:

  • 1 c sugar
  • 1 c all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  •  3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 c buttermilk
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 c flavorless oil, like canola
  • 6 tb water
  • 1/2 c creamy peanut butter (Molly uses all natural.  I didn’t, so I dropped the sugar by about 1/4 C)

preheat oven to 350.

grease an 8-inch square pan (or something similar, like the pan that i used), line the bottom with parchment paper, and set it aside.

in a large bowl, whisk together all the dry ingredients. in a medium bowl, whisk together all the wet ingredients. whisk the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and then pour into cake pan and bake until the top is golden and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. begin checking for doneness at 25 minutes.

let cool for about 10 minutes in the pan and then turn onto a lightly greased cooling wrack.

dust with powdered sugar, cut into squares, and serve! store in an airtight container for up to a few days, or freeze for up to a few weeks.

One thought on “On Easy Baking [peanut butter snack cake]

  1. I LOVE Lazy Daisy cake, one of the few cakes I’ve actually made several times from scratch. But I wouldn’t love peanut butter cake, I’m sorry. I’m a peanut-butter purist–it must not ever be mixed with sugar, which (the sugar) I sprinkle all over every other thing that I eat. 😦

Leave a Reply

