Happy Birthday Hey Girl, Hey [chocolate chip cookie cupcakes]

Hey Girl Hey and I like to run away for the summer, finding various beaches where we can spend the better parts of 10-12 weeks. So imagine my surprise when the stars aligned and we were both in town for a piece of August. Better yet, the piece that included her birthday. When I asked her dessert preference, she divulged that she is, in fact, an equal opportunity dessert lover, and I could make whatever I pleased. Cupcakes.

IMG_4384.JPG

I used to be a cupcake machine, cranking out new flavors for friends’ birthdays left and right. But when #andthenweboughtahouse happened and I was ousted from my kitchen for a year, I got thrown way off my game. And cupcakes aren’t quite in the spotlight the way they once were. So I don’t remember the last time I made them. It was glorious fun to be back in the kitchen whipping these up, and even better that they were in celebration of the great, Hey Girl, Hey.

IMG_4391

I flipped through one of my favorite old cookbooks, and landed on chocolate chip cupcakes with chocolate glaze. And because I was feeling fancy, and because these are already insanely brown-sugary, I sprinkled the tops with toffee bits.

To make about 20 cupcakes you will need:

  • 2 C flour
  • 2 C brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 C butter, cold, and cut into small pieces
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 C sour cream
  • 1/4 C whole milk
  • 2 C chocolate chips

In the bowl of a mixer, combine flour, brown sugar, and baking soda. Add butter, and continue mixing until butter is in smaller pieces (you may still have some chunks, that’s okay). Add egg and vanilla, mixing till incorporated. Add sour cream and milk, and beat the batter just till smooth. Fold in chocolate chips.

Using an ice cream scoop if you have it, scoop equal portions of batter into about 20 muffin tins, lined, or sprayed with nonstick cooking spray. Bake 25-30 minutes.

For the glaze (this recipe came from a different cupcake cookbook because I didn’t have the right ingredients for the one called for):

  • 1 C powdered sugar
  • 1 heaping T cocoa powder
  • 2 T melted butter
  • 2 T milk, possibly a little more
  • Toffee bits, if you like, for garnish

Stir powdered sugar and cocoa powder together. Add melted butter and stir as much as possible. Add milk and stir till completely incorporated. If mixture is still too thick,  add milk, a tsp at a time, stirring to incorporate completely before

6 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Hey Girl, Hey [chocolate chip cookie cupcakes]

Leave a Reply

