Years in the Making [boston cream cupcakes]

When Pinterest first became a thing, I pinned Boston Cream cupcakes.

I can pass on almost any donut unless you come at me with Boston Cream.

Please, come at me with Boston Cream.

So this was the perfect merger, my favorite donut flavor in one of my favorite dessert forms.

IMG_4118.JPG

But time passed, as it always does, and I never made them. I am slightly afraid of custard, or really, anything that requires precision in baking. I would always cycle back to the recipe when picking cupcakes to make, but never commit to the time it would take to make them.

And then I found a cheater version, and I adapted it even more, and here we are.

I’ve finally made Boston Cream cupcakes, and shared them with people I love.

To make 2 dozen, you will need:

  • Your favorite yellow cake mix, with the necessary ingredients (some eggs, some oil)
  • A small box of French vanilla pudding mix, and the necessary milk
  • Your favorite chocolate frosting (yep, I used store bought here…the horror)

Make the cupcakes according to the directions on the package.  Let them cool completely, and while doing so, make the pudding.  When the cupcakes are completely cool, unwrap them and slice the cupcakes in half cross-wise.  Spread frosting on the top half (it is so much easier to do it now, then once there’s a smushy layer of pudding in the middle).  Once the pudding is set, spread a layer of it in each cupcake, and sandwich the cupcake back together.

Store, wrapped, in the fridge, until you serve.

3 thoughts on “Years in the Making [boston cream cupcakes]

  1. I found one more tuptake in the fridge just as we were leaving and gobbled it up. Also I ate 100% of the leftover organic, all-natural pudding, and it was delicious, too! Thanks for sharing the cupcakes with your loved ones! 🙂 ♡♡♡

Leave a Reply

