On Drinking Kale [peanut butter chocolate chip energy bites]

The other day I realized that I run on nothing but sugar from the minute I wake up, till whenever I eat lunch. And because I’m not willing to change my Starbucks order, I was hoping some healthier choices for later in the day would fall into my lap.

Cue Ali Cheaterbites

She posted a recipe for those energy bites you always see on Pinterest, made by those people who drink kale for breakfast. I am not those people (see above). But Ali Cheaterbites is a real person I’ve met in real life, and I don’t think she drinks kale for breakfast, at least not every day, so if she’s talking about them, I’m much more likely to trust her sage advice. 

I made these late one night, set them in the fridge, and scooped and rolled them the next morning. 


The state of my life right now is such that if these did give me a boost of energy, I didn’t notice. But I bet if I ran marathons and drank more kale, I’d feel the extra pep. What they did do was give me a good alternative to the handfuls of M&Ms I shove in my mouth around 3:00 every afternoon. And make me feel better that I don’t have to run on straight sugar throughout the whole entire day. 

To make about 2 dozen energy bites, you will need:

  • ½ cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/3 cup shredded coconut, toasted
  • ½ cup ground flax meal
  • ¼ cup mini cinnamon chips (I didn’t have these, so I doubled up on chocolate chips)
  • ¼ cup mini chocolate chips
  • ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • pinch nutmeg

In a medium bowl, combine the peanut butter, honey and vanilla extract. Add in the remaining ingredients and then mix everything together until well combined. Refrigerate for 20 minutes.

Once chilled, shape mixture into 1 inch balls. Store in the fridge for up to a week…if they last that long. 

Leave a Reply

