Oops [white chocolate churro crunch]

For the past several weeks, I have been constantly hungry between 11-3.  I eat breakfast, and then lunch is this on-going affair that usually involves some attempt at a “meal,” mixed with handfuls upon handfuls of whatever is closest.

And then I listened to my beloved Sorta Awesome (I don’t even remember which episode, I’m sorry!), and I believe it was Kelly who mentioned that when she is taking care to eat well, she’s not constantly hungry throughout the day.

Oops!

I have not been eating particularly well lately.  Suggestions for easy, filling, and healthy breakfasts and lunches welcome!

I had already purchased the ingredients to make white chocolate churro crunch before having this epiphany, so I felt a little bit like the person who always says the diet will start tomorrow. What else am I going to do with a box of Honeycomb cereal?

That all worked out kind of great for me, because this snack mix is simply amazing.  It involves melted chocolate, so my picture is a bit of a lie. But if this blog had an alternate title it would be, the misadventures of a horrible chocolate melter, so I just ate all my globby-chocolate-blobs and snapped a picture of the rest of the mess.

I could not stop eating this. It’s absolutely addictive, and while I won’t say it’s better than muddy buddy mix, I will say it hits a different sweet spot. There’s room for both o rely sweet cereal concoctions in your life, too, I’m sure. 

To make snacks for a little group, you will need:

  • 4 cups Honeycomb Cereal
  • 4 tablespoons melted butter
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup melted white chocolate

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Toss honeycomb with melted butter in a large bowl.  Then add cinnamon and sugar, and toss to coat.  Bake for 15 minutes.

When Honeycomb mixture has completely cooled, drizzle with melted chocolate*.  Refrigerate or freeze till chocolate is set, then serve.

*I hate working with melted chocolate, because things always come out so much blobbier for me than other, more seasoned food bloggers.

Leave a Reply

