A Very Basic Fall [cream of chicken noodle soup]

Do I get points for being over three weeks into fall and not having worn leggings as pants yet?  Hope so.

img_5208

Here are the basic fall trends I’m into and not:

Pumpkin:  No thanks.  I make one pumpkin dessert a year (currently eyeing this one) + pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving.  That’s it.  That’s all I need.  Hold the pumpkin spice lattes, please.

Plaid:  In theory, I am all about plaid.  In practice, I have, and thus, wear, almost none.

Duck boots:  Yes, yes, yes, and yes.  I love them, they are perfect for the rain, and they are one of my favorite fall classics.

Apple picking:  This is another one where in theory, it’s a great idea.  In practice, it’s a long day that involves lots of schedule coordinating, and lots of apples.  If I had a huge family to feed, though, I’d be swimming in this applesauce, and living off of this cake with our hypothetical harvest.

Soup:  Bring me all the soup.  After surviving the most blazing parts of the summer, in which all one can hope for is a trip to the beach or the pool, I am always so anxious to get to soup season.  I always make it way to preemptively early, in hopes that maybe my doing so will kick mother nature into gear, and bring us cooler temperatures and crisp fall air.  If you’re doing fall right, at least in my book, you’ve got a pot of soup, stew, or chili on the stove at least once, if not twice, each week.  It’s the epitome of comfort.  Friends of ours did a different soup every week last fall and winter, and I’m thinking it could be our family’s next ritual.  As always, stay tuned, dear readers.

My most recent foray was (surprise!) a slow cooker soup.  Slow cooker cream of chicken noodle soup, to be precise.  Your table needs this.  It’s all the comfort of chicken noodle plus the richness of cream.

To make soup for 6 (except the way I kept eating more, it would probably only feed 4), you will need:

3 chicken breasts, cooked and cubed
5 cups chicken broth/stock
2 tablespoons butter
1 cup chopped onions
1 cup chopped carrots
1 cup chopped celery
1 can corn, drained
2 cans cream of chicken soup
1/4 cup evaporated milk
8 oz homestyle dry egg noodles
salt and pepper to taste

Melt butter in a skillet. Add onions, carrots, and celery and saute for about 4-5 minutes or until veggies are just soft. In a slow cooker combine chicken stock, cream of chicken soups, and evaporated milk. Whisk. Add cooked chicken, sauteed vegetables, and corn. Cook on low for 3 1/2 to 4 hours. Add noodles, cover, and turn slower cooker to high. Cook on high for 1 more hour. Serve with bread or crackers.

2 thoughts on “A Very Basic Fall [cream of chicken noodle soup]

Leave a Reply

