A Post with too Many Photos [boursin mac and cheese]

Warning:  All the photos ahead.  I had way too much fun scrolling back through the last 10 years’ worth.  Ladies.  Ten.  Years!

A long, long time ago, in a much simpler time in all of our lives, when we (almost) all lived in close proximity to one another, and had 0 children among us, CV(D), AGOMYR, Hey Girl Hey, My Ex and I got together on the regular to eat cheese and crackers and drink copious amount of wine.  Sometimes we called it book club (LOL).  Other times, we planned to go out afterward, but were having way too much fun with each other to waste time with bars and men.  (And still other times, we went for it with the bars and men.)

birthday-034birthday-013book-club-003legwarmersimg_5809img_6197img_0893img_3116

img_4950img_5599img_6256

Those were the days.  Cheese and cracker and wine-filled days.

Out of habit, I was always content to stick a slice of extra sharp cheddar atop my beloved triscuits, but I’d be remiss if I was hosting and I didn’t include Boursin cheese in the spread.  It was an essential to a handful of these lovely ladies.  But I could take it or leave it on its own, which is odd, given my penchant for herbs and cheese.

Nonetheless, this recipe on Cup of Jo caught my eye, because it took all the flavors I love and added pasta, and fine, fine, I’ll give this Boursin stuff a shot.

img_5540

What I found discovered was everything I never knew I was looking for. This is like a more sophisticated, homemade version of Annie’s Mac and cheese.* Too good to be true. 

To make pasta for 4, you will need:

1 lb. medium shell pasta
1 package (5.2 oz.) Garlic & Fine Herb Boursin
1 1/2 cups fresh peas (frozen are fine too)
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. fresh black pepper
zest of 1 lemon

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. Add the shells and cook until just al dente. (They will continue to cook in the sauce.) Reserve 1 cup of pasta cooking water. Drain the shells.

In a large sauté pan over medium-high heat, add the 1 cup of pasta cooking water** and the Boursin. Break up the cheese as it melts. Simmer the sauce for about one minute. Add the peas and the shells to the pan and stir. Cook for about a minute until the sauce has thickened around the shells and the peas are cooked through. Stir in the salt and pepper and taste for seasoning.

Plate the shells and garnish with the lemon zest and fresh black pepper. Enjoy!

*When I served this up, my husband thought it was Deb’s alfredo. The two are similar, but distinct enough that I will be hanging on to each recipe in its own right. 

**At first, when I added a whole cup of water, I thought, holy goodness, I’ve done ruined the sauce.  Just let it keep simmering a while, and everything will thicken up.  Even more so when you add the pasta back in.

9 thoughts on “A Post with too Many Photos [boursin mac and cheese]

  1. Who is that carefree young girl on the right in the first photo?–looks like she’s had a really good night’s sleep and is enjoying happy hour without any whining going on in the background!

  2. I forgot how blonde you used to be! What babies we were….and now we are raising our own! So thankful for all these memories. xox

      • 2 cups whipping cream
        1 5 oz Boursin cheese with herbs
        3 lbs thinly sliced potatoes
        parsley

        Melt cheese with cream. Butter lasagna dish, lay half potatoes cover with half sauce, repeat. Pepper.
        Bake until brown and potatoes soft (about 45 – 1 hr). Let stand 10 min. Sprinkle with parsley (I never do this).

        Better late than never?

  3. Pingback: Pasta Plans | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

