I Want to Remember [a winter goopdate]

IMG_7507.JPG

I want to remember… how much you love when we roll the red kickball back and forth.  You flap your arms up and down and squeal until I send it back to you.

I want to remember… that you are always in motion.  I can’t take a picture of you that isn’t blurry.

I want to remember… you want to read all the time.  You’ll find a pile of books (we keep one in every room), pick up your favorites, and flip the pages endlessly.

I want to remember… that you have been sick for over a week.  We are all doing the best we can.  Being cooped up in the house is not great for either of us, and we’ve quickly exhaust our favorite toys most days.

I want to remember… the noises you make when your dad goes to get you in the morning.  You are so happy to see him and you babble incessantly while he changes you and gets you ready for the day.

I want to remember… the rhythm of our days.  Breakfast, coffee (oh, how the Starbucks team loves you and is so, so good to you), nap, whatever the day’s activity is, home for lunch and another nap, and playing till we start texting your dad to beg him to come home.

I want to remember… that you don’t like to be pulled apart from me.  Deep down inside, I love this so much.  In the minutiae of our daily lives, I don’t always.  Deep breaths.  You won’t always want to be attached to my right leg.  And I’ll probably miss it when you don’t.

I want to remember… that you’re learning to clap, wave and high-five.  I swear you’re trying to say “Mommy,” “Yes,” and “Again.”

I want to remember… that you love looking at photos.  We have our holiday cards up on the wall, and every time we go up and down the stairs, you have to stop to “talk” to some of our friends.

6 thoughts on “I Want to Remember [a winter goopdate]

  1. This. You will remember. And it will always heat your heart when you do.

    Sent from my iPhone, so typos are most likely Siri’s fault.

    >

  2. You will remember Jen. I am reliving a lot of Billy moments with Fiona. We just danced to a song that I used to dance to with Bill. 1985 classic: walking on sunshine !!

  3. Love this!! I look at your niece’s “baby” photos and videos every evening on my way home and every evening when I come in and see her little face I am so surprised to see how “big” she is!! Time does fly. I do want to remember most of it (and hope to forget some)

Leave a Reply

