The Internet is My Favorite

part deux!

uniform.:

(This is pretty much my mom uniform, and yet, I never appear as pulled-together as her. I’m certain it has nothing to do with our age-gap.)

The other night, my husband was doing the dishes, I was sitting on the couch, and when he turned to ask me a question, I couldn’t answer. I had tears streaming down my face as I read this. “Parenting is easier if you have an abundance of four things: (1) energy, (2) creativity, (3) selflessness and (4) affection. If you give your kids everything you have inside of you, they will eventually give it back.” Brb, I’m dead.

I probably need this for the shower.

I’ve followed Design Mom on and off for years, and recently, Gabby had two posts that I came back to a couple times (and absolutely think are related, as well). Did You Lose Your Identity? and What If Your Partner Wants Fewer Kids Than You? That second one especially, because in it, she mentions the spacing of her kids due to the relative ease of the baby before.

And one more mom-thought. I recently ran into a (full-time-working-) mom-friend with older kids. Are you reading? Hiiiiii. She mentioned that staying home when your kids are little is for you, but that as they grow up, it becomes so much more about being there for them. I get it. I do. And this piece about it getting harder as they grow up? Felt in the same vein.

Jenny says this book is “Sleepless in Seattle meets the Food Network.” In.

So many beautiful tributes to Amy Krouse Rosenthal lately, who wrote equally well for children and adults. A rare gift, indeed: Shutterbean, Cathy Zielske, DALS. And since it seems we’re all sharing our favorite parts of Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life, mine is (paraphrasing, because it’s not in front of me) when Amy writes about cars rushing to pull to the side of the road as an ambulance hurries by. It’s like we’re all cheering for it to get where it needs to go. I read the book in 2006, and I still vividly remember thinking, YES.  Yes, that’s what we’re all doing!

When Deb posts brownies, you make the brownies.

Perhaps all my post-birthday reflection has me super nostalgic, but I would love to have one of these made for Gooplet. And while we’re at it, one of these for me and my husband.

I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention Missing Richard Simmons. I was hooked on the podcast, and yet, I’m not sure if that whole search was particularly ethical. Or worth caring about? The premise of S-Town sounds pretty good.

 

3 thoughts on “The Internet is My Favorite

  1. Wowzers. (1) energy, (2) creativity, (3) selflessness and (4) affection. The creativity and affection are right there, built-in features for moms. The energy, well, you just have to have it. The selflessness? Kinda a tough one. When you introduce yourself to people at your kid’s school or meet your kid’s friends, you find yourself saying, “Hi, I’m Gooplet’s mom,” and suddenly you realize, “Wait, do I have an identity?” This post is super deep. And being a mom is the absolute best! 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing (again!) — so appreciate it and that link to the Design Mom post about # of kids. Need to read that one, stat 😉

Leave a Reply

