If You Want it to be Spring Break, You Have to Make it Spring Break [Week in the Life, Monday]

Monday was the last day of our spring break. But not really spring break. I was just mom-ing away at home like I always do. The difference between spring break and regular life was that I declared it spring break. This meant laundry was neglected, I got lax about cleaning, I shirked some clean up duties to read on the porch every night, and we are all still fine.

One of the things I loved about being a teacher was that come June, the school year was over and done, and you could start fresh in the fall. Not so with mom-life. It’s on and on and on and on-going. And there’s never a good time to stop the madness and take a break from the daily routines. But sometimes, your friends are on spring break, and so you declare a little break of your own.

If you want it to be spring break, you have to make it spring break.

You decide that this is the week you’ll have a little more fun.

Here’s what Monday looked like.

IMG_0050.JPG

He just lives to be outside. I enjoy being outside, but not as much as him. On good days, I’m accommodating.

IMG_0060.JPG

He and I both share a love of the grocery store, thank goodness. He likes to bang on boxes in the front of the cart, and point and shout at balloons as we walk around. He loves saying hello to the butcher, and the check out ladies.

IMG_0098.JPG

I am almost always my most productive during Monday morning naptime. Today was dinner in the slow cooker, laundry folded, dishes washed, smoothie finished, coffee poured, trash and recycling out, groceries put away.

IMG_0111.JPG

We are in the car for something or another every day. Love seeing those chubby feet.

IMG_0109.JPG

We love when we have an errand to run right near two of our besties. Met them at the grocery store and picked up a couple things at Home Goods (but not the things I needed).

IMG_0126

He asked for TV when we got home, so 10 minutes of snuggles and Sesame Street (with Grover and Cookie Monster).

IMG_0131.JPG

He loves to play with little figures. These two are fresh from the Easter basket.

IMG_0143.JPG

We ventured off to see more friends (told you it was spring break). The grown ups had a glass of wine and spanikopita. He ran all over the place.

IMG_0149.JPG

They did dinner together while I caught my breath.

IMG_0153.JPG

We (3) did bath time with a super tired Gooplet.

IMG_0161.JPG

We ate dinner together, but each did our own (phone) thing.

IMG_0170.JPG

I ended the day the best way I know how. Reading (Small Admissions) on the porch. A couple nights away from home this week means this is probably not going to happen as much as I want it to.

Why so many photos in one day? It’s Week in the Life! Stay tuned for more shots from my week.

Questions? Ali invented it.

Past Weeks in my life? 2016//2015//Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday* Saturday Sunday 2011 (!!!!!)

*AGOMYR, you still reading? Be sure to click on Friday. xoxo

 

4 thoughts on “If You Want it to be Spring Break, You Have to Make it Spring Break [Week in the Life, Monday]

  1. He is getting cuter and cuter every day! 😍😍😍😍😍 I love home goods ❤️❤️ I love the idea of your spring break. Genius!

  2. Pingback: Wins of the Month – April, 2017 | a glass of milk

  3. Pingback: The Internet is My Favorite | a glass of milk

  4. Pingback: Currently | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

