On Moments [Week in the Life, Tuesday]

Motherhood has brought me an understanding of so many things about which I was clueless before. And a deeper knowledge of a lot of old adages. Take, for instance, “Every day may not be good, but there is good in every day.” I appreciate small moments so much more than ever before. Because, babies? They can take a glorious day and change everything on a dime. Scroll on, dear readers.

IMG_0175

Today you screamed for dear life in your crib from 2:50 to 4:00 a.m. I am usually pretty heartless when it comes to sleep, figuring you can go ahead and get back to sleep on your own, but today was different. The screams were louder, and our windows were open, and I was terrified you’d wake the neighbors. Dad attempted to get you back to sleep, and I went in with the big guns (Motrin), but nothing worked. Ultimately, I scooped you up at 4:00, brought you over the chair in your room, and you slept while I held you, until 6:30. And are you ready for the kicker? I didn’t even hate it that much.

IMG_0186

Today you were cuter than cute when you woke up. All smiles, babbling away, and playing. Like the 4 hours prior hadn’t even happened. I don’t know if I’ll ever fully understand you, little Goophead.

IMG_0191

Today you wanted to follow your dad around all morning long. This is a departure from the last 5 or so days where you have had no interest in him at all.

IMG_0194

Today you got your shoes on with Dad, and once he left for work, we did our long walk, including a trip to Starbucks. After last night, it was a venti kind of day.

IMG_0228

Today you stalled for a while before we started stories and naptime. I was baffled as to how you weren’t tired, but you weren’t.

IMG_0234

Today I cleaned up your breakfast dishes like always.

IMG_0235

Today I emptied the dishwasher and flipped some laundry.

IMG_0246

Today I turned in my session report before our meeting on Thursday.

IMG_0248

Today you had too much fun at gym class. It’s your happy place – you can run and climb and do just about whatever you want.

IMG_0256

Today we walked around a little bit in hopes that the line at Cava would get shorter. It did, and we ate together in the shade. I so wanted to get dessert, but I held out, remembering all the sugar in my coffee this morning.

IMG_0259

Today you busted into the pantry as I was getting something out. You love walking around with the brooms and Swiffer.

IMG_0263

Today we watched another wall of the house across the street go up.

IMG_0284Today we went for a short stroll around the block, but not before loading up on sunscreen. You inherited my fair skin, and I’m doing my part to make sure it stays as flawless as it is now.

IMG_0286

Today you sat on our recycling bins and picked through what was already in them. I have no idea where the love of the bin comes from, but you ask to do this every day.

IMG_0294

Today you were not happy after your nap so you sat in my lap and I stacked a bunch of Legos and just kept singing songs you like.

IMG_0301

Today Dad came home a little earlier than usual so I could get things done. But you had no interest in me leaving your side, so we all snuggled on the couch.

IMG_0296

Today I popped you on the counter for a minute while I tried to get BBQ bacon burgers on the dinner table (they were a great success).

IMG_0304

Today I slipped out after bedtime for a tutoring session. An hour of measurement and volume in the books.

Why so many photos in one day? It’s Week in the Life! Stay tuned for more shots from my week.

Questions? Ali invented it.

Past Weeks in my life? 2016//2015//Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday 2011 (!!!!!)

2 thoughts on “On Moments [Week in the Life, Tuesday]

Leave a Reply

