The Other White Meat [herb roasted pork]

A good pork recipe always surprises me.  I think it’s because it’s so easy to end up with pork that is as dry and crunchy as cardboard.  This pork is the exact opposite.  It’s moist and flavorful, and serves as a reminder that I need to get out of that chicken and beef rut I end up in more often.  It comes, surprise, surprise, from The Barefoot Contessa.  Interestingly enough, the recipe didn’t sing to me in her cookbook, it was browsing thru Annie’s Eats that won me over.  I adapted what they did just a little, as I used one larger roast.  And I surprised myself by reducing the amount of lemon juice (so not like me) and upping the mustard.  But I think I achieved the perfect balance of flavors.  My husband proclaimed this the best meal I have ever made.  And it was too easy!

You will need

  • 2 lemons, both for the juice, 1 for the zest
  • ½ C olive oil
  • 4-6 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 ½ T chopped fresh rosemary
  • 1 T chopped fresh thyme
  • 2 T Dijon mustard
  • 2 lb pork tenderloin (Ina and Annie used 2, 1 pound roasts, I used 1, 2 pound roast)
  • salt
  • pepper

In a bowl, whisk together the first 6 ingredients.  Toss in some salt and pepper and whisk some more.  Pour into a gallon-sized Ziploc bag.  Add the pork tenderloin, seal the bag, and turn the pork over to coat completely.  I stuck mine in the refrigerator overnight, although Cook’s Ilustrated once told me that anything more than 90 minutes doesn’t do anything.

Now the Barefoot Contessa wants you to grill the pork, but that’s because she lives in East Hampton and can go outside whenever she wants.  Some of us in little apartments don’t live in such luxury.  Never fear!

Preheat the oven to 375.  Place the pork in a baking dish, or small roasting pan, and pour the marinade overtop.  Roast for 50-60 minutes, or until the internal temperature reads about 150.  I didn’t do anything during the cooking process, but I do wonder what would have happened if I had gotten off the couch and drizzled some marinade over top throughout the cooking process.  Let the pork rest for 5-10 minutes so the juices don’t run when you cut into it.  Place it on a serving platter, and drizzle those yummy juices overtop.  Don’t worry about the marinade…it boils away in the oven, so you are not consuming the raw pork juice (ew).  Slice thinly and serve with your favorite starch.

We did exactly as Annie told us and ate it with roasted carrots and potatoes.  This is a new favorite.

One thought on “The Other White Meat [herb roasted pork]

  1. i love your blog. i glare not only because it made me late for work this morning but because you have been depriving me of this fun.
    i make stuffed pork chops (with a simple homemade stuffing) that adam ❤ 's… and i got the recipe from the back of the sticker on the plastic wrapping the chops. I'm excited to try a new pork recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

