Kitchen Shortcuts

One of our go-to weeknight options is risotto.  Every week before I go to the grocery store, I ask my husband if there’s anything he wants on our dinner menu for the week and more often than not, risotto makes the list.  I don’t understand why people are so afraid of risotto.  It doesn’t take that long to make, and you can sip a glass of wine as you stir.  What you end up with is a rich, creamy dish into which just about anything can be added.

I’m very wary of kitchen shortcuts, especially when it comes to my favorite dishes.  If a recipe claims it will save you time, it often misses the mark in terms of flavor.  But everywhere I turned, from Ina, to Cook’s Illustrated, to Real Simple, I kept seeing recipes for oven-baked risotto.  I knew a sign from above when I see one, and last week, I bit the bullet.

Real Simple recipes and I have a storied past, full of hits and misses.  But one of my favorite risottos (which I can’t believe I have yet to share with you all) is from the magazine, so why wouldn’t this one hit the mark as well?

In case the bright green color isn’t enough to win you over, I’ll let you in on a little secret.  Baked risotto is a matter of dump and stir (and dump again).  The only way you could exert less effort and still end up with risotto is by ordering off your favorite Italian menu.  And it tastes like the real thing.  I’m sold.

To make Baked Spinach and Pea Risotto, you will need:

  • 2 T unsalted butter
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • Kosher salt
  • black pepper
  • 1/2 C dry white wine
  • 3 C vegetable or chicken broth
  • 1 C Arborio rice
  • 1 C frozen peas
  • 4 oz, baby spinach, roughly chopped (about 2 C)
  • 1/4 C grated Parmesan cheese, plus more for serving

Heat oven to 425.  Heat the butter in a medium Dutch oven (Cari Faye, are you reading this?) or ovenproof pot over medium-high heat (I use my Le Creuset).  Add the shallot, 1/2 tsp. salt, and 1/4 tsp. pepper and cook, stirring often, until soft, 3-5 minutes.  Add the wine and cook, stirring, until almost evaporated, 2-3 minutes.  Add the broth and rice and bring to a boil.

Cover the pot and transfer to oven.  Cook until rice is tender and creamy, 20-25 minutes.

Add the peas, spinach, Parmesan, 1/2 tsp. salt, and 1/4 tsp. pepper to the pot and stir to combine.  Yes, this will cook the peas (this step fascinating my husband).  If the risotto is too thick, stir in up to 1/4 C hot water.  Sprinkle with additional Parmesan before serving.

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Shortcuts

  1. Pingback: Dutch Oven Redux « a glass of milk

Leave a comment