I’m Going to be Honest

Time is not something I have a lot of right now.

So the gushing is going to be minimal in this post.

toasted coconut popcorn

But if you, like me, have five minutes, and if you, like me, enjoy snacks that blow your mind, then may I gently suggest Tracy Shutterbean’s toasted coconut popcorn.

It’s popped in coconut oil, and ever so slightly salted, and it’s just plain fun.

To make some you will need:

  • 1/2 C coconut flakes (I use unsweetened, I buy them at Whole Foods.  I’m sure Trader Joes would come through for you, too.)
  • 2 T coconut oil, divided
  • 1/4 C popcorn kernels
  • kosher or sea salt

Toast coconut flakes over the stovetop.  Pour coconut in a small frying pan over medium heat.  Stir things around constantly for 3-5 minutes until the flakes start to brown.  No matter my stove, gas or electric, I always move the coconut off the burner right away because the amount of time it takes to go from lightly browned to burn is about the time it takes me to turn the knob.  What I’m trying to say is, remove it from the heat as soon as you can.  Set aside.

In a 4 qt. saucepan, melt 1 1/2 T oil over medium-high heat.  (If you’re not familiar, coconut oil is a solid at room temperature, but melts when heated. Science!)  Once the oil is melted, place three kernels in the bottom of the pan, and cover.  Let sit and listen for three little pops.  This should take between 1-2 minutes.  Once you’ve heard all 3 pops, that means the oil is exactly the right temperature.  Pour in the remaining kernels, cover the pan with your hand and get ready to get your work out in for the day.  With one hand, hold the handle of the pot.  With the other, hold the lid.  Shake the pot over the burner and in a quick second, you’ll hear lots of pops.  Once that slows down, and there is a second or two in between sounds, take the popcorn off the heat.  Keep the lid on for about 15 seconds, just to make sure there are no more pops, and then remove.

Tracy recommends layering this is a serving bowl so you get a little of everything in one handful.  So pour half the popcorn in a bowl and sprinkle with salt.  Add half the coconut.  Repeat with the popcorn, salt, and coconut.  Enjoy!

*I didn’t eat everything in one sitting, and stored my popcorn in a Ziploc bag for 2 days.  It kept much more beautifully than it usually does for me.  Perhaps it was the coconut oil instead of the vegetable oil I’m used to?

One thought on “I’m Going to be Honest

  1. Pingback: I love lists, Friday! – Shutterbean

Leave a comment