From Deb’s Blog, To My Stove (or, don’t fear the springform) [yogurt cake with raspberry sauce]

If you are someone who visits smitten kitchen as often as I visit smitten kitchen, then you know Deb loves cake.  I have a couple of her cakes flagged, but really, when do I make cakes?  Only for birthdays.

Until yesterday.  When I read this.  Much like cookies, I’m pretty picky when it comes to cake.  It’s not my hands-down favorite dessert, so it needs to be good enough to be worth the calories.  I have two favorite cakes (both lemon), one of which comes from Grandma Glass of Milk and the other from Ina.

Ina’s cake is why I knew Deb’s yogurt cake would be more than just good.  And a yogurt cake in a 9 inch pan instead of a loaf pan ensured it would also be fast!  So I made it last night (albeit with lemons and raspberries, because that’s what I had).  The day Deb blogged it, I made it; a feat I’ve never accomplished.  Recipes, even from my favorite bloggers, waste away for months in my digital recipe box until I stumble upon them again, looking for ways to amuse myself.  But this was in the oven in a matter of minutes.

And it was perfect.  It was simple food at its best.  I resisted the urge to add the zest of 3 lemons because that’s not how this cake rolls; it’s understated, and the flavor combinations are endless.  Go play in your kitchen and see what happens.

*Also, can we please talk about springform pans?  I was afraid of mine, but I used it for this cake.  What a breeze!  I might never look back.

5 thoughts on “From Deb’s Blog, To My Stove (or, don’t fear the springform) [yogurt cake with raspberry sauce]

  1. Pingback: Weekend Update « a glass of milk

  2. Pingback: Calorie Fest 2k12 « a glass of milk

  3. Pingback: Calorie Fest 2k12 [cheesecake] | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

