Three is the Magic Number

In the name of the new year, and fresh starts, and looking ahead, I’ve been thinking a lot about this little blog, and what I want for it.

I’ve been trying to figure out why it is that we’re all here in this little corner of the internet.

Because three is the magic number I kept thinking that I needed 3 words to define my blog.  I got two right away, but it wasn’t enough.  I don’t know why.  It’s not like anyone told me I needed to be able to define A Glass of Milk in 3 words.  Maybe 2 would suffice.  But things come in 3s, and I wouldn’t sleep until I knew my third word.  Maybe I knew a piece of my blog was still missing when all I could come up with was simple and honest.

oreo cheesecakes

When people ask about my blog, I usually start blathering on about how this is a great way for me to record our nightly fare, and for me to make notes on the tweaks I make to whatever it is I’m cooking.  That’s the truth (See–honest?).

But it is not the only reason I’m here.

oreo cheesecake 2

I’m here for the story.

I’m here because being the one behind the laptop means that I can connect a piece of my life to the food I ate at any given point in time.  That’s the magic of it for me.  That and sharing it with you all.  And hearing your stories.

So I’m plowing through 2014 with three words in mind for us all at A Glass of Milk.

Simple.

Honest.

Story.

Now let’s have cheesecake.

It takes a pretty big event for me to make Ina’s cheesecake, which is a crying shame.  It’s amazing.  It’s also about 8942 pounds.  It’s also the only cheesecake I ever make, despite having about 8942 of them pinned.  So I did something about that.  I bought a pack of Double Stuffs, and made some mini cheesecakes from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes book.  You can make them, too!

To make 10, you will need:

  • 14 Oreos (Double Stuffs, because, what, honestly, is the point of eating the regular ones?)
  • 1, 8 oz. package cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1/2 C white chocolate chips, melted
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Line 10 muffin tins with paper liners, and place an Oreo in the bottom of each.  Crush or chop extra 4 Oreos into bite-size pieces.  Mix cream cheese in bowl of an electric mixer, fitted with the paddle attachment until smooth and, well, creamy.  Add sugar and egg and beat till combined.  Add melted chocolate chips and vanilla and beat till combined.  Fold in crushed Oreos.  Divide mixture evenly among muffin tins, and bake for about 20 minutes, until filling is just set.  A little jiggling fresh out of the oven never hurt anyone.  Remove from oven and let cool in pans for 30 minutes.  Transfer to wire rack to cool completely.  Refrigerate 4 hours, or overnight, or until you just can’t wait anymore and you eat one anyway, because, really, what harm is it going to do?

3 thoughts on “Three is the Magic Number

  1. Pingback: On Honesty [wings, three ways] | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

