Top 10 Blogs

Ali asked me to give her a list of my top 10 blogs right now, and I realized that instead of emailing her the annotated list, I’d put it up here for all to see.

frappucino cupcake

(Frappuccino cupcake designed by a super-cool 5th grader)

What I’m finding right now is that I’m not as interested in the “big” bloggers.  Meaning, I’m truly sorry, but I don’t want to hear about your line for Target.  I’ll see it next time I’m there.  I don’t want to read about your latest sponsorship or enter your giveaway.  I want to see posts about your life.  That’s why blogs are so great.  They give you a peek into another regular person’s world.  And we know I’m too nosy not to care.  Here’s what I love right now:

Emily Henderson – She’s almost like a more-approachable GOOP.  Her posts are a healthy mix of everyday life, and beautiful home design.  As I start to consider the possibility of walls existing in our #AndThenWeBoughtAHouse house, I am taking notes as I read.

Smitten Kitchen – #alwaysandforever

Enjoy It – I have read Elise’s blog daily for at least the past 5 years.  She’s consistent, she’s honest, and she’s one of my all time favorites.  Even her posts about business (and her business is nothing like my business) fascinate me.

Shutterbean – Much like Elise, Tracy is someone who speaks my language.  Her “I Love Lists Friday” posts are the best link-filled posts in town.  And I pin her stuff again and again.  (more recently, this)

Inslee – Inslee is a most-talented artist, who chronicles her work, and her most-glamorous New York life online so the rest of us can stare in awe and wonder.  I love her sketches, and her story-telling is unrivaled.  Her Impossible Story is not to be missed, nor are the tales of her 2015 calendar girls.  And on my next trip to the Big Apple, I’m keeping my eyes peeled for Daphne.

Dinner, A Love Story – Jenny and Andy write beautifully about food, life, and books.  I want to be their family when I grow up.

Tara Whitney – it’s been said on this blog before, but someday, I’ll have an army of children, and Tara will come take our pictures, and it will make me weep.

How Sweet It Is – Jessica is my best friend from middle school.  I mean, not really, duh, I had SCL, but she fulfills this role beautifully in blog world.  She goes big or she doesn’t go at all.  And her recent baby posts couldn’t be cuter.

Whatever – I also want to be Meg when I grow up.  She blogs about things like staying in her PJs all day and watching TV, and the realities of teaching 5 kids to do their own laundry.

Cup of Jo – Yes, she’s a biggie, but she keeps her posts short and sweet, while managing to seem (and I hope that means she truly is) incredibly down to earth.

And a bonus blog, from The (Not So) New Girl:  Magnolia Homes – the blog of Joanna Gaines, host of HGTV’s “Fixer Upper.”

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Blogs

Leave a comment