Summer Reading

Summer is always a season of reading for me, and this summer, it seems like there are so many great books on the horizon.  Here’s what I’m hoping to get to.  I have a ton of these titles on hold from the library right now, and I promise to swing back and keep you posted on what pans out.

Reading on the beach | #lyoness | Travel now: https://www.lyoness.com/branche/travel:

(All titles best enjoyed with an ice-cold glass of Joy the Baker’s summer water.)

My favorite thing to do in the world! Lie on the beach with a book in one hand, a drink in my other! ☀️:

Modern Lovers, by Emma Straub – I loved The Vacationers, and I bet this will be equally fabulous.  Straub has a way of writing about people today that makes you feel like she’s rolling her eyes at us, while smiling at the same time

The Nest, by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney – This has been all over Instagram because the cover is so darn beautiful.  Modern Mrs. Darcy says this is “a rare bird–a literary page turner.”  I can’t wait.

Opening Belle, by Maureen Sherry – Reese Witherspoon bought the rights to this one, so I’d better get started before it becomes a movie.

The Island House, by Nancy Thayer – I read The Guest Cottage last year solely because the girl on the cover looked like she could be me.  And I thoroughly enjoyed it.  Looking forward to breezing through this one, and pretending I’m on Nantucket.

My Brilliant Friend, by Elena Ferrante – Have you heard of the series?  I hadn’t until my aunt mentioned it, but then it started popping up everywhere.  I wouldn’t have picked this up otherwise, but I’m interested to get my hands on it. Now I’m next in line for the first book, and realizing if I like it, it’s going to be a couple months before my number comes up for book two.  Should have thought of that ahead of time.

Here’s to Us, by Elin Hilderbrand – I’m going to confess something, and I hope you won’t judge me.  I’m not a huge Elin fan.  I love the beach, I love chick lit, and I have nothing but sweet, sweet love for Nantucket.  I’ve started a bunch of hers, but they haven’t held my interest.  My hope for this one comes in the form of Jess, one of my favorite bloggers, who wrote some recipes for the books.

In the Unlikely Event, by Judy Blume – This one came out last summer, which means you might be able to score it without having to wait at the library.  I am a huge fan of Blume’s Summer Sisters, and hope this novel for adults holds me just as much.

*Speaking of which, Reese is turning Big Little Lies into an HBO series.  I flew through it in a weekend about a month ago.  As someone with an in-depth knowledge of an elementary school, I found it hysterical in that it’s not too far-fetched to think something like what happened there, could actually happen.  I’ll leave it at that, and tell you I hadn’t loved any of Liane Moriarty’s books until this one.  I adored it.  Time to try What Alice Forgot.

(picture one and picture two)

Leave a comment