December 1 {baked crispy hot wings}

Be honest, how much did that week between Thanksgiving and 12/1 help you out?  I feel like I’m about to punch the holidays in the face, rather than let them drag me around by the seat of my pants for the next several weeks.  Judging by the number of evergreens I saw tied to cars out on the road today, I’d say we’re all in the same boat.  Here’s to that extra week of breathing room.

man and fireToday is December 1, which, for me, is the beginning of Christmas season (that is, if the day after Thanksgiving just seems a bit too soon).  In our house, that meant breaking out the decorations, starting a fire, and picking out a tree.

decorationsThat little guy on the dining room table belonged to Grandma Glass of Milk.  She passed it on to me during a fit of downsizing.  Speaking of little guys, casa Glass of Milk is now home to a new one.

elf on the shelfIf you didn’t already know, the Elf on the Shelf watches all the girls and boys and reports on their naughtiness, or lack thereof, to the jolliest man of all.  I’ve always wanted one.  I don’t care that I don’t have an actual child for this guy to watch over.  He can watch over me.  He did that today while I made Tracy Shutterbean’s baked crispy hot wings.

wingsYes, I said baked.  Baked, as in, not fried.  Baked, as in, eat as many as you darn well please, because how bad for you is chicken, and isn’t spicy food supposed to kick-start your metabolism, anyway?

wings on a platterSince I’m nothing if not honest, dear readers, I’m going to tell you I don’t love wings.  Give me a burger and fries in front of a football game any day.  But.  I mean, obviously, there’s a but in a post about wings.  But these are not greasy chicken parts sitting in a plastic basket at a bar that start your nose a-running.  That’s what I thought wings had to be.  They don’t.  These are homemade chicken wings.  Their crispy skin gives way to juicy,  oh-so-flavorful meat underneath.  With just enough kick to keep you coming back for more.

drummettesMy husband likes the wings and I like the drumettes.  We are a match made in heaven.

To make wings for 2 (a male and a not-as-hungry female), you will need:

  • A pack of chicken wings (1.5 pounds-ish)
  • 1 T butter, melted
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 C Frank’s hot sauce (or another hot sauce of your choosing)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil, and set a rack on top of it.  Now it’s time to get real.  You’re going to have to trim the chicken wings.  I was terrified.  But I thought of when I was terrified to touch raw chicken when I was in middle school and how I got over it.  And I thought of when I was terrified of taking the organs out of the chicken cavity and how I got over it.  And then I trimmed the chicken wings and I got over it.  I’d do it again in a heartbeat to eat these another night.  Alternately, you could search for the elusive pack of drumettes and go from there.

Combine the butter, cayenne, salt and pepper in a bowl, and let hang out for 5 minutes.  Add hot sauce and stir till combined.

In large bowl, toss wings with sauce.  Place wings, skin side down, on top of baking rack, and bake 20 minutes.  Flip wings over, and brush with sauce if you have some remaining in the bowl.  Let the wings crisp up in the oven another 20-25 minutes.

Serve hot, with celery and raaaaaaaaanch dressing.

5 thoughts on “December 1 {baked crispy hot wings}

  1. Pingback: On Honesty [wings, three ways] | a glass of milk

  2. Pingback: Meal Planning – For a Week | a glass of milk

  3. Pingback: The Internet is a Crazy Place | a glass of milk

Leave a comment